Kono Oto Tomare!

Synopsis:
Since the graduation of the senior members of the club, Takezou ends up being the sole member of the “Koto” (traditional Japanese string instrument) club. Now that the new school year has begun, Takezou will have to seek out new members into the club, or the club will become terminated. Out of nowhere, a new member barges into the near-abandoned club room, demanding to join the club. How will Takezou be able to keep his club alive and deal with this rascal of a new member?

 

I have no ears for classical music and I have never even considered checking Mozart’s or Chaplin’s compositions that I have encountered into some of the anime series I have previously watched over the years much less a JAPANESE Classical Music.

But hey, who said I can never be wrong, right?

Upon some boring day when I can’t find a manga to read and I’m feeling adventurous, I often click that small button on manga sites that suggests random titles.

I’ll be frank, I clicked that manga because I got enticed by Chika (one of the series’ main protagonists) that was on the cover of the synopsis. Who can resist the allure of those eye-candy art and it’s shounen to boot!

But wait! What sense would it be if the way it was drawn beautifully but the personality is flat and unmemorable?

koto-char

The design (for the nth time — yes, I know) is great. If you’re like me who likes to ogle at 2D girls and boys with nice features, in variation of a (former) delinquent, a stoic friend-type and a glass boy, quirky friends, a tsundere and a kuudere — add this one to your reading list. As the story progress, each character was given an ample time to give their own story and struggle with their issues like regret, friendship, family and love.

This manga is obviously music themed but unlike other titles that just shows the protagonists (and competitors) a few jibber-jabber about the piece they are playing, I love how the koto and the music was portrayed. It feels like you hear the actual strength of the notes played and the certain emotions it wants to covey.

Currently have 51 chapters scanlated and looking forward to read the next chapter soon.

For those you want to hear the pieces featured in Kono Oto Tomare here are the links

Ku-on

Ryuuseigun

Double Personality

 

 

Leave a Reply

